If you delete a community, can a community with the same name be recreated again?

Lets say I made a community with the name !home@lemmy.world. If I delete this community, could anyone else later on in the future recreate the community using the !home@lemmy.world name on lemmy.world. Or is it once a community name that is taken, even if it is deleted will not longer be available?

21 points · 3 comments · view on lemmy.world

3 Comments

ateles@lemmy.world · 6 pts · 3y (1 reply)

Great question, I’m also interested in the answer to this. Otherwise, what stops a malicious actor from creating and deleting a bunch so they can never be used?

puddlexplorer@lemmy.world · 4 pts · 3y
[ removed ]
antik@lemmy.world MOD · 2 pts · 3y

No the community can not be recreated when it is deleted. If there is demand they can pick it up with the instance administrators and the community could be purged which would make them available for recreation.

SheeEttin@lemmy.world · 1 pts · 3y

Not unless an admin purges it, I think. But you can always create it on another instance.