Maybe restart/refresh the app when people buy the ad-free version?

I just bought it, and after a pop-up that says "Enjoy the ad-free version" or something, I was immediately brought back to my feed with an ad on it.

I get why it happened, and in my case it was just a funny moment that prompted me to restart the app, but a non-tech-savvy person might find it disturbing and waste your time with a support request.

22 points · 7 comments · view on lemmy.world

7 Comments

Carighan@lemmy.world · 18 pts · 2y (5 replies)

"WTF, I bought it and my app restarted, now I lost my position in the feed! Is this how you treat your paying customers?!?!!@#$!@#!" <-- user, after such a change, 98% likely

dabaldeagul@feddit.nl · 19 pts · 2y (1 reply)

Solution: "Thanks for purchasing the ad-free version of Boost! You may have to restart the app for changes to apply." Or something like that.

Anticorp@lemmy.world · 3 pts · 2y

What sorcery is this?

Eiri@lemmy.world · 5 pts · 2y (2 replies)

We just can't win lol

Traister101@lemmy.today · 9 pts · 2y (1 reply)

Carighan@lemmy.world · 3 pts · 2y

Yeah that's exactly what I was thinking about. 😂

MedicPigBabySaver@lemmy.world · -4 pts · 2y

You shouldn't operate any devices if you don't understand the restart after change/update process.