Deleted comments are still visible to other users?

I've deleted one of my comments, but I'm still getting replies on it, indicating that it's still visible to others and not appearing as "deleted" as it should be appearing. I logged in with my alt account on a different instance and verified that the comment was still visible despite the fact that it was supposed to be deleted.

Is there something I can do about this or is this just some kind of wonky federation related issue? The comment was posted on a different instance than my home instance, if that matters at all. Could that be why it won't delete and still seems to be visible?

13 points · 3 comments · view on lemmy.world

3 Comments

fkn@lemmy.world · 8 pts · 3y (2 replies)

Unfortunately your is a known bug. If the delete doesn't get federated properly there isn't a way to redo it.

dandroid@dandroid.app · 5 pts · 3y

For this reason, I have been editing comments to [Deleted] instead of actually deleting them. If it doesn't federate properly, I can edit them again.

Nitrate55@lemmy.dbzer0.com · 3 pts · 3y

Ah, well, that sucks. Do you have any idea if the devs are aware of this bug? If so, I hope they fix it one day.