What does Purge button in the options under a deleted comments do?

I deleted some comments and wanted to get them back, but I found out that it's apparently impossible to do this on PieFed, but there is a Purge button, I have some idea what it does, but I would appreciate an clarification.

6 points · 3 comments · view on lemmy.world

3 Comments

wjs018@piefed.social · 5 pts · 1y (2 replies)

Yeah...this led me down a bit of a rabbit hole. I had initially written up a big post about how to restore a deleted comment, but then realized I was testing it out on an account that was a community moderator. So, trying again, here is what I found:

  • Restoring a deleted comment as just a normal user (not a mod or admin) is currently not possible. This seems like an oversight and I think it should be a relatively easy fix.
  • Restoring a comment as a mod/admin works as expected. You need to expand the deleted comment with the arrows and then select restore from the three dots menu.
  • Purging a comment literally removes it from the database. This prevents it from ever being restored ever again as it basically doesn't exist from the server's perspective any longer.

I have created a codeberg issue for restoration of posts/replies.

Green_Mouse@piefed.social · 2 pts · 1y (1 reply)

Thanks!

wjs018@piefed.social · 1 pts · 1y

Just to follow up on this. A fix for this has been merged and should roll out in the next 24 hours or so to the site.