Android beta wipe

Hey everyone! I thought I'd post this here since the android beta only has 18 subscribers on Lemmy.

I recently downloaded the Android 14 QPR, and in the update message it claimed I could opt out without wiping my phone before "applying" the update. I did opt out, but after beginning the download. After the download and installation, my phone wants to download the stable release of Android 13 and do a full wipe. I assumed "applying" meant actually installing the update rather than downloading.

Is there any way to get around this, or did I just misunderstand the message and opt out in the wrong order and essentially screw myself?

To be clear: I don't mean roll back to stable without wipe, I'm fine with the beta version I have now. I intended to opt out and not get any more updates until release.

18 points · 4 comments · view on lemmy.world

4 Comments

Yarla98@lemmy.world · 4 pts · 2y (1 reply)

happened to me as well on the previous version of android (12 to 13). Completely wiped everything. Sad day.

Ironfacebuster@lemmy.world · 3 pts · 2y

At least it's only moderately annoying, right? 😢

evo@sh.itjust.works · 4 pts · 2y (1 reply)

Idk where you read that but I think you are stuck now. If you had opted out before taking QPR1, you could have waited for the official Android 14 release and updated to that without wiping. I believe you are going to have to wait for the official QPR1 in December to get back to "stable" with wiping the device. Here's an article on it.

Ironfacebuster@lemmy.world · 2 pts · 2y

It was in the update message in the system settings itself.

I've opted out of the 13 beta before without wiping when a similar message said I could, but I believe I opted out before even starting the download.

I know I could've waited, but I figured since I was given the chance I would take it and wait before google introduces any new bugs they won't fix until release

Edit: lol in the article it says to just ignore the downgrade prompt, so I guess we're all good