Cancel/Discard process

The UI for discarding a comment always confuses me.

If I want to discard a comment I'm writing, I have to hit "cancel," then I'm given two options, cancel or discard. I think I must follow the previous naming convention, so I hit cancel, but instead, I have to hit discard to discard the comment.

I think it would be better to have "Discard" as the element in the screen when you write a comment. Then, when you confirm the decision, it is the same nomenclature, discard or cancel.

If you want, I can add a screenshot.

34 points · 4 comments · view on lemmy.world

4 Comments

machinin@lemmy.world · 9 pts · 2y

This is what I think should be changed to "Discard."

bjoern_tantau@swg-empire.de · 4 pts · 2y

Only who can prevent forest fires? https://youtu.be/wX1x7pfH8fw

DampCanary@lemmy.world · 2 pts · 2y (1 reply)

or confirmation pop-up could write: confirm/cancel, maybe?

machinin@lemmy.world · 3 pts · 2y

I think that would have the same problem of cancel for the first button and a different name for the desired function on the next screen.

Cancel (delete) -> Cancel (cancel deleting) / Confirm (confirm deleting)

My suggestion is

Discard (delete) -> discard (delete) / Cancel (cancel deleting)