kersploosh

u/kersploosh@lemmy.world
18 posts · 222 comments

Recent posts

Recent comments

You are now the "top" moderator of both communities. I did not remove the existing moderator, but you have the power to remove them if you wish. They have no visible activity for 2 years, so I do not think they will notice any changes.

The hard part is that there is no good way to confirm whether an account or a community is truly abandoned. Any criteria for determining what gets removed is going to have a significant false-positive rate and piss off a lot of people.

I'm not sure there's much to gain from a mass removal, anyway. Lemmy.world has several thousand communities, most of which are pretty quiet, but the mere existence of those communities isn't causing any issues as far as I know.

Content you delete from public view remains visible in your own feed, and you as a user cannot change that AFAIK. Maybe some app or browser frontend has the option to hide self-delete content?

Admins can "purge" a post or comment from the database, which would do what you are asking. But we try to avoid purging things if it isn't absolutely necessary. It's an irreversible process and a ripe opportunity for us to break things.