I don't know what this site wants me to allow, but no thanks.

it also kept redirecting to itself like twice a second to not let me go back.

217 points · 20 comments · view on lemmy.world

20 Comments

skullgiver@popplesburger.hilciferous.nl · 69 pts · 1y (2 replies)
[ removed ]
sevon@lemmy.kde.social · 22 pts · 1y (1 reply)

It's a fake website

Figured as much. So it's ad spamming that they're going for.

Euphorazine@lemmy.world · 16 pts · 1y

Notification access also allows them to show pictures, so they will show things like "you have a virus, download "totally legit antivirus " or other "warnings" disguised as windows alerts.

Rooki@lemmy.world · 37 pts · 1y (6 replies)

Never allow "Send notification" permission for "Bot verification purposes". I heard a new type of fake "Captcha" where you need to execute a script ( with Windows + R and then pressing enter ) that will just execute a script and run malware.

sevon@lemmy.kde.social · 17 pts · 1y

Yeah, I saw that one. Actually kind of a smart idea as many people will surely blindly press the keys as instructed.

Cris16228@lemmy.today · 7 pts · 1y (3 replies)

News/articles about it? Curious to read

Rooki@lemmy.world · 10 pts · 1y (1 reply)

Not a news article about it but here is a video showing you how it works/what happens https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJ_g9YfnjHQ

Cris16228@lemmy.today · 3 pts · 1y

Thank you! I'm curious to see it

BrikoX@lemmy.zip · 9 pts · 1y
kent_eh@lemmy.ca · 4 pts · 1y

Never allow "Send notification" permission for "Bot verification purposes".

Or for any other reason, either.

Not even my bank or other places I trust get to send me push notifications in the wenmb browser.

If you really need to get my attention, and if I have explicitly allowed it , then send me an email.

Skua@kbin.earth · 32 pts · 1y (2 replies)

If a website is redirecting to prevent you using the back button, you can usually right click the back button to jump back several steps at once

Valmond@lemmy.world · 14 pts · 1y

I usually closes the tab with the little "x"

toynbee@lemmy.world · 9 pts · 1y

Or long-click / long tap the back button.

trustnoone@lemmy.sdf.org · 9 pts · 1y (1 reply)

My guess is either your location or notifications. I'm guessing the first assuming the site isn't just an outright scam.

TriflingToad@lemmy.world · 7 pts · 1y

its notifications, seen this trick one too many times of downloading Minecraft texture packs on the now en-shit-ified adfly. It will send notifications like every other second and I assume (I blocked notifications by this point) one of the ads is "your computer is infected! call [tech support scammer number] for support"

GreenEngineering3475@lemmy.world · 9 pts · 1y
[ removed ]
TrickDacy@lemmy.world · 1 pts · 1y (4 replies)

You censored your extensions...?

sevon@lemmy.kde.social · 6 pts · 1y (3 replies)

?

I censored the url.

TrickDacy@lemmy.world · 5 pts · 1y

My bad. The blockiness confused my eyeballs

MinFapper@startrek.website · 3 pts · 1y (1 reply)

Pity. I would kind of like to know what the scam website is.

tal@lemmy.today · 4 pts · 1y

I'd guess they probably use multiple throwaway domains.

googles for the text shown in OP's image

Here's a site that has a screenshot that references one, "allowpush.club".

https://malwaretips.com/blogs/remove-to-access-the-website-click-allow/

That was back in 2022, so I kind of assume that they're long gone and on other domains now.

EDIT: Yeah. There's a domain-name squatter there now, and the WHOIS data on that domain shows it only being registered since early 2024, by someone out of Cyprus.

Mwa@lemm.ee · 1 pts · 1y

they would just put mass notifications on you i have fallen for this before